Top Five Winter Lipsticks

My Top Five Winter Lipsticks

My Top Five Winter Lipsticks

Top 5 Winter Lips

I’ve already done a post on my Top Five Red Lipsticks but today I thought I’d go through my five favourite lipsticks to wear in the winter. When the days get darker I find that I need to wear heavier make-up, switching from tinted moisturisers to medium cover foundations and wear warmer richer colours on my eyes and lips. As it’s so cold in the UK I can wear lipsticks on daily bases without the fear of them melting in my handbag or sliding all over my face!

L-R MAC Dare You, Revlon Black Cherry, Revlon Lip Butter in Berry Smoothie, MAC Shy Girl and Chanel Etole.

L-R MAC Dare You, Revlon Black Cherry, Revlon Lip Butter in Berry Smoothie, MAC Shy Girl and Chanel Etole.

Swatched L-R MAC Dare You, Revlon Black Cherry, Revlon Berry Smoothie, MAC Shy Girl, Chanel Etole

Swatched L-R MAC Dare You, Revlon Black Cherry, Revlon Berry Smoothie, MAC Shy Girl, Chanel Etole

Revlon Black Cherry

I love the feel of these crème Revlon lipsticks so long lasting and comfortable to wear throughout the day. Black Cherry was the first darker lipstick I bought (yep I dived straight in) so it holds a special place in my heart. In the bullet it looks scarily dark and brown but on it’s a gorgeous deep rich plummy red. It’s incredibly pigmented a little goes a long way I apply this with a lip brush before leaving the house then top it up from the bullet throughout the day (or night). To really vamp it up I sometimes layer my Chanel Cristalle Gloss in N0.15 over the top, it’s a raspberry red with a little bit of sparkle in it. This combo is high maintenance, but so worth it for a really glossy vampy lip.  Black Cherry is also almost an exact dupe for MAC’s ‘Media’ if you want to get into dark lips but aren’t convinced then Black Cherry is a great cheap way to give it a go.

Chanel Etole*

Etole isn’t something I would normally choose for myself a dark browny/mauvey red it’s a grown up sophisticated colour in fact I almost gave this to my mum, but decided to hang on to it (sorry mum) as it’s so different to anything else in my collection. Although in the bullet it looks dark, on me it’s a ‘my lips but more sophisticated’ shade. I have very pigmented lips naturally so on others it might be truer to the bullet. It’s a Rouge Coco finish and has a little sparkle in it which, when on the lips gives a beautiful sheen. For me this isn’t a everyday lipstick but rather something I’d wear to a job interview or smart dinner, for when I want to look polished and done up but still fairly natural.

MAC Shy Girl

MAC describes this as ‘creamy neutral coral beige’ but on me this is a warm pinky-peach nude. Because I’m so fair I find it really hard to find a nude that doesn’t a) make me look dead or b) give me the ‘concealer lips’ look.  So when I had some bits to ‘back to mac’ I asked the sales assistant to choose an everyday nude for me and this is what she came up with. Shy Girl works all year round but especially in winter as it’s a warm nude meaning it won’t jar so harshly on paler skin which can look a little dull when it hasn’t seen the sun for a few months. Shy Girl is also a cremesheen which is my favourite mac formula as its fully opaque, has a satin finish yet is still creamy and hydrating.

Revlon Berry Smoothie

The Revlon Lip Butters have become a fail safe way of wearing more intense colours in a safer way. So if the dark tones of Black Cherry put you off but you still want to dip your toe in the berry trend then I’d recommend picking up Berry Smoothie. Berry Smoothie is a pinky/berry sheer shade which give the lips a lovely sheen but isn’t too glossy. As it’s more of a tinted lip balm the wear time isn’t great and you’d need to reapply this every hour or so, but its great to pop in your handbag for when you need a pick me up and don’t have a mirror.

MAC Dare You

Another Berry shade and its another chemesheen from MAC! Dare You is one of my all time favourite lipsticks it’s a deep dark red with a slightly glossy finish and a little bit of shimmer running through it. It applies smoothly and has a wear time of around 4 hours before I need to touch up I love this for nights out with a brown smokey eye for a bit of a 1920s feel I also this goes really well with my dark red hair.

What are your favourite winter lipsticks? Any more I need to try?

Top Five Red Lipsticks

Top Five Winter Blushes

 

This entry was posted in Top Five and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Top Five Winter Lipsticks

  1. Coco says:

    Black Cherry is so pretty, I need to get it x

  2. Revlon black cherry looks gorgeous, I won it in a blog competition a few weeks ago, I can’t wait for it to arrive :)

    http://www.ofbeautyandnothingness.blogspot.co.uk

  3. Jen says:

    Revlon Black Cherry has been on my wishlist for so long- it looks so lovely and dramatic! Thanks for the review :)

  4. This is such a fun post – I love seeing what others pick for their go-to products :)

Leave a Reply

