October Favourites 2012

October Favourites

Emma Hardie Cleansing Balm

There has been so much hype surrounding this product that when my last bottle of Liz Earl’s Cleanse and Polish bit the dust (I’ve gone through 4) I just had to try it. I saw that Beauty Bay was doing some special offer on all Emma Hardie products and managed to grab it for £26.86 instead of the usual £34. At first I was using this as recommended by Caroline Hirons of beautymouth.com, to take of all my make-up including eyes and following up with a deeper cleanse such as my REN Clear and Calm clay based face wash. But with the colder months closing in and with this being such a luxurious product I’ve since switched up my routine using either a cream cleanser or Bioderma to take of the first layer of make-up then using this as my second, deeper cleanse. I also use this as an agent to do my facial massage with.

Emma Hardie Natural Lift and Sculpt Moringa CleansingBbalm£28.86for 100ml at beautybay.com

Aesop Camellia Nut Facial Hydrating cream

Aesop is another new hot brand doing its circuit within the blogging world. Namely the Parsley Seed Mask is getting a lot of attention. So when my very generous sister gave me a Selfridge’s voucher for my birthday I knew I wanted to try something. I needed a new day cream and the lady at the counter was amazing really friendly and took a lot of time helping me pick one out, giving me enough samples to do an at home facial! I won’t go into too much detail here as it warrants its own review but let’s just say I love it so far.

Aesop Camellia Nut Facial Hydrating Cream, £41 for 120ml at Selfridges.com

MAC So Chard Matte Lipstick

Another Birthday present! This time from an equally beauty-mad friend. This is just the most amazing orange toned red lipstick. I have no idea why it doesn’t get more attention in the beauty world as it really holds its own against the more raved about Lady Danger or Ruby Woo. As it’s a tomato red it looks fantastic with a tan, but I almost prefer it on me now as it jars against my very fair skin showing off the colour even more.

MAC Lipsticks are £14 at maccosmetics.com

Real Techniques Contouring Brush

I love this brush all year round for highlighting and contouring but this month its become an essential for me. I’ve been using it to apply my cream blushers with as that I can now wear without the fear of them sliding down my face.

This brush comes in a set with three other brushes including the buffing brush, £21.99 at Boots

Essie Apricot Cuticle Oil

Funnily enough the part of my body that is most affected by the weather change has been my hands and nails. I always suffer from dry hands and ragged cuticles and this escalates as the nights draw in. I’ve been keeping this on my bedside table and massaging it in every night. It’s a little pricey  but trust me when I say a little goes a long way. I’ve had my bottle for nearly a year and it doesn’t even look used!

Essie Apricot Cuticle Oil, £9.25 for 15ml beautybay.com

Korres Fig Showergel

I rarely take baths in my flat, preferring to keep them for when I go home to my parents who have a huge bath and lots of hot water! But it’s nice to still get that ‘pampering’ feeling in the shower now and again. This is why as well as having a ‘normal’ showergel from boots I like to have another, more luxurious one hidden away just for me. This month it’s been the most divine smelling Korres Fig showergel. Korres is a Greek brand which is now stocked on ASOS although I picked mine up from Waitrose. I went on a few holidays to Greece with friends as a teenager so using this brings back many happy memoires. I plan to pick up the matching body butter.

Korres Showergel, £8 for 250ml from asos.com

This entry was posted in The Favourites and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

