Aesop Camellia Nut Hydrating Cream

“We advocate the use of our products as part of a balanced life that includes a healthy diet, sensible exercise, a moderate intake of red wine, and a regular dose of stimulating literature.”

 

Aesop is an Australian brand that use high performing plant based ingredients as well as scienceier lab based ones in all their products.

It was this balanced of way of thinking that drew me to them as a brand. I have very sensitive skin but at the same time I have other skin concerns such as blocked pores and uneven skin tone, most products I find that are ‘organic’ or aimed at sensitive skins seem to think that if your skin is sensitive it must be very dry to.  This is not the case with me and I’m sure with many other people my age or younger. Also as much as I love to use more natural ingredients in my skincare its always nice to know that its been tested in a lab (just not on animals please) to prove that it actually works!

A big part of the Aesop brand is their stores; the flagship store in east London is beautiful and has the look of an old apothecary. This branding carries on with the products most are in heavy glass jars or bottles, the products are unisex and the packaging would look just as amazing on a man or women’s bathroom shelf.

Getting onto the Camellia Nut Hydrating Lotion, I’ve never really fallen in love with a day cream before. I actually think it’s actually one of the hardest things to get right in a skincare regime. It can’t be too greasy or too thick if it’s going to be a base for make-up yet at the same time needs to keep your face feeling hydrated and comfortable throughout long days. For me the Camellia Nut Hydration Cream does all that! It’s thick in consistency yet spreads easily meaning you don’t have to use loads it’s absorbed really fast leaving my skin hydrated but matte so it’s the perfect base for make-up which is important for me as I don’t like to use a primer or a powder. Which is very impressive considering it’s actually for dry skins. The main ‘active’ ingredients are Vitamins A and E which are great anti-oxidants very important if you live in a big city like me. Rosemary which is fantastic for sensitive skin, Sandalwood (which makes it smell incredible) and of course Chamomile which is also great for sensitive skin.

A side note is that it doesn’t contain any SPF which is unusual considering it’s an Australian brand. I have SPF in most of my foundations so this doesn’t worry me. I also don’t really subscribe to the thought that we all have to wear suncream every day even in darkest winter. I live in London and spend my days going from my flat to the tube to work and back again. The only exercise I do is in hot rooms full of sweaty people to house music (spin!). I must only spend around 30mins outside every day and a little bit of sun is good for you!

It comes in two sizes a 60ml and a 120ml I picked up the smaller size as I wasn’t sure if I would react to it or not but I think its easy to say I’ll be repurchasing the larger size when I run out. My sister has asked for some Aesop bits for Christmas and I’m looking forward to having an excuse to go back in and have a sniff around.

Find it here.

 

This entry was posted in The Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Aesop Camellia Nut Hydrating Cream

  1. Pingback: SOS- Save Our Skin with Antipodes Night Cream. | Kittymakesup

  2. Pingback: February Favourites | Kittymakesup

  3. Pingback: Aesop Primrose Facial Cleansing Mask – Review | Kittymakesup

  4. Pingback: Origins Make a Difference Plus + Rejuvenating Moisturizer | Kittymakesup

Leave a Reply

