Top Five Red Lipsticks

My Top Five Red Lipsticks

L-R Nars Dragon Girl. Tom Ford Cherry Lush, Maxfactor Lovely Strawberry, Benefit Benetint Lipbalm, MAC So Chaud.

My Top Five Winter Blushes went down well so I thought I’d continue the theme starting with my top five red lipsticks. I go through phases of wearing red lipstick every day for a month and then hardly at all, or only for nights out. I’ve been wearing my reds a little more recently as they cheer me up in this horrible weather!

Swatched L-R Tom Ford Cherry Lush, MAC So Chaud, NARS Dragon Girl, Maxfactor Lovely Strawberry, Benefit Benetint.

Tom Ford Cherry Lush*

Everyone should own a Tom Ford Lipstick for the packaging alone; Pure Luxury (with a capital L). As you can see I have the old white packaging which I have to admit I prefer to the new darker tubes, I think the combination of bright white and gold trim is so classic and sophisticated. Cherry Lush is a vibrant cherry red it has slight blue toned pink leanings, but on me this is a true Marilyn red which goes really well with my fair skin. It’s very pigmented and creamy feeling light on the lips. It’s a satin/matte finish and not at all drying.

MAC So Chaud

This is my newest red lipstick but its fast becoming one of my favourtie lipsticks ever. I spoke about this in my October Favourites here. This is a matte, warm orange/red, on me it’s more red then orange but I’ve heard that on medium/dark skin tones it pulls more orange then red. I loved wearing this over the summer with a tan as it looks so effortless straight from the bullet with no lipliner or just patted on over lipbalm for a more stained effect. I’m still wearing this now for nights out with my MAC redd lipliner and using a lipbrush for a more refined finish. This is very similar to MAC’s Lady Danger so perhaps you don’t need both however although they are both matte finishes I fine So Chaud less drying. Chaud of course means hot in French and that’s how I see this lipstick a fiery hot, sexy red.

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Dragon Girl*

I own a few of the velvet matte lip pencils from NARS and love them for their lasting power, easy applications and non-drying matte finishes. Dragon Girl is my favorite out of the four I own and is an incredible cool toned bright bright red! The pigmentation is excellent and lasts all day on me I love to take this to festivals as it’s so easy to apply no fiddling around with a lipliner or lipbrish and once it’s on its on.

Maxfactor Max Effect Gloss Cube in Lovely Strawberry*

I’m not sure what possessed me to pick this up as I am not really a gloss girl, I always associate it with a sticky feeling, rubbish lasting power and no colour pay-off, might as well use a lipbalm. But this gloss from Maxfactor is in its own ball game as far as pigment goes. You get a completely opaque, glossy vampy red lip in one swipe. As it’s a gloss you can keep re-applying until the sun goes down with no nasty drying or patchiness. It even reminds me of the much pricier YSL lip stains.

Benefit Benetint Lipbalm.

An oldie but a goodie, sometimes I want more of a rosy tint then a full on red lip and this fits the bill.  I’ve been using benetint since I was 15 and I still love the Snow White finish of this. It’s not the most moisturising lip balm but it’s a lovely red tint for more subtle days.

Do you like to wear a red lip in the winter? Do you have any recommendations I need to try?

Top Five Winter Blushes

Top Five Winter Lipsticks

This entry was posted in The Favourites, Top Five and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top Five Red Lipsticks

  1. Pingback: The Lipstick Tag | Kittymakesup

Leave a Reply

