Evening Skin Care Routine

My Evening Skin Care Routine

My Evening Skin Care Routine

I’ve already posted on my Morning Skin Care Routine which consists of a simple cleanse, tone, moisturise regime. However the evening is when I really enjoy taking my time to treat and nourish my skin. This is just my ‘basic’ nightly skin routine as I like to switch it up a bit from day to day depending on how my skin is feeling, for example twice a week I might use a mask or an exfoliating treatment but I plan to do separate posts on them.

The most affective change I’ve made to my skin care routine is probably the simplest and most obvious but it’s made such a big difference in my skin over the past year or so is to think of cleansing your skin and removing your make-up as two separate steps. I used to just go straight onto my fully made up face with my cleanser then use the toner to remove the last scraps. This is not what the cleanser and toner are for; if you have any make up residue on your cotton pad when you tone then in the words of Caroline Hirons ‘ you’ve not washed your face properly and you need to wash it again’.

Lancome Gentle Softening Cleansing Fluid for Face and Eyes & Lancome Softening Hydrating Toner

Lancome Gentle Softening Cleansing Fluid for Face and Eyes & Lancome Softening Hydrating Toner

So on that note the first step in my evening skin care routine is to remove my make-up with either a cream or milk cleanser. At the moment I’m using Lancome Gentle Softening Cleansing Fluid for Face and Eyes but I also enjoy using Liz Earle’s Cleanse and Polish. I take a couple of pumps and massage it into my dry skin and over my eyes with my hands, once I feel like it’s really broken down all my make-up I remove it with a flannel soaked in warm water. You can of course use this on a cotton pad but I personally feel like you get better results by really working the product onto your skin with your hands and breaking down your make-up, plus you can re-use flannels where as cotton pads get thrown in the bin. That’s normally enough for me but if I happen to be wearing heavy eye make-up or lots of gel eyeliner I simply take some Clarins Gentle Eye Make-Up Remover Lotion* on a cotton pad and wipe the excess off. I love this eye makeup remover and if you have sensitive eyes I highly recommend it its water based so unlike something like Lancome’s Bi-Facil which has oil in it, it doesn’t give me a rash.

Emma Hardie Amazing Face Natural Lift Sculpt Moringa Cleansing Balm & Clarins Gentle Eye Make-Up Remover Lotion

Emma Hardie Amazing Face Natural Lift Sculpt Moringa Cleansing Balm & Clarins Gentle Eye Make-Up Remover Lotion

Once I’ve taken off the majority of my make-up I then go in with my cleanser of choice. At the moment its Emma Hardie Amazing Face Natural Lift Sculpt Moringa Cleansing Balm so much has been said on this wonder product so I won’t go into too much detail now but let’s just say it’s worth the hype. A thick oily balm that I can work straight onto my slightly damp (not wet!) face and massage it in until it turns into an oil. I like to spend a god few minutes massaging this in to really get all of the gunk to the surface and get the blood pumping.Once I feel like I’ve really worked the product I get a little warm water in my hands and add it to the oil on my face, this turns the oil into a milky texture, making it easier to remove. I get the same flannel I used with the milk cleanser soak it in fresh warm water and buff it off. The buffing of the flannel provides a light exfoliation for nights when I’m not using my Alpha-H liquid gold. Once I’ve removed all of the cleansing balm with my flannel I dry my face and use a quick sweep of my Lancome Softening Hydrating Toner which is alcohol free and contains rose water to hydrate my skin.

Chanel Ultra Correction Line Repair Anti Wrinkle Night Cream,  Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate & Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Serum.

Chanel Ultra Correction Line Repair Anti Wrinkle Night Cream, Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate & Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Serum.

Once I’ve toned I’m ready to start piling on the serums, oils and creams! What/how much I use really depends on how my skin is feeling that day whether its feeling a bit blemish prone or dry and tight. But most nights I start off with my Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Serum*there are so many serums out there that it can get a bit confusing, but ANR really does seem to suit everyone. Its main factors are hydrating and promoting cell turnover, meaning that its both anti-aging and spot/scar fighting! It sinks in really fast and once dried my skin feel comfortable but it still needs a little extra something. I then take a small dollop of Chanel Ultra Correction Line Repair Anti Wrinkle Night Cream.* Now I don’t have any wrinkles *yet* but I’m a big believer in prevention and am in my mid twenties so I feel like I need to use a heavier cream in the evenings. The Chanel Ultra Correction Line Repair Anti Wrinkle Night Cream* is incredibly thick and luxurious cream it also has that floral ‘Chanel’ scent so if you’re allergic to scented creams you might want to stay clear. Sometimes if my skin is feeling really dry and sore I’ll mix in a little Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate, gorgouis lavender scented oil that really kicks the hydration levels up a gear and gives me plump, soft skin in the morning. And that’s it once I’m all oiled up I can slip into bed burn a scented candle and maybe read a few beauty blogs before falling asleep feeling nice and relaxed.

What’s your night time routine? Have you tried any of the above products?

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in The Routines and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Evening Skin Care Routine

  1. Looks like a great face care range you’re got there x

  2. Laura says:

    I really like the EH Balm and the Kiehl’s Midnight Concentrate. I really want to try the Estee Lauder ANR.

    Laura
    http://www.whitewintersblog.com

Leave a Reply

