Post Christmas Pamper

The Post Christmas Pamper

The Post Christmas Pamper

Now that Christmas is over things can get a little deflated, the mince pies have been eaten and I’m left with a sugar hangover, a couple of pounds heavier and a New Years dress to get in to! But don’t panic I’ve got the guide for a little post-Christmas pamper to make you feel de-stressed and looking forward to the New Year.

Neil's Yard Aromatic Bath Oil & Foam

Neil’s Yard Aromatic Bath Oil & Foam

First I run a hot bath filled to the brim with either bubble or if your really exhausted a gorgeous bath oil. I’ve chosen Niel’s Yard Aromatic Bath Foam *or Bath Oil* these lavender scented bath treats soften the skin and help calm the mind whilst the steaming water from the bath will help you open your pores allowing for a deeper cleanse. Once I’ve immersed myself in the bath I remove any grime and left over make-up from Christmas with my trusty Liz Earl Cleanse and Polish* taking care to get every last scrap of mascara that may have worked its way down my face after the Downton Abby Christmas Special (Thanks for RUINING Christmas ITV!). After I’ve cleansed I put on a deep cleansing mask to try and keep all those sugar spots at bay. I’ve been trailing the Aesop Parsley Seed Cleansing Mask and their Primrose Facial Cleansing Mask. I think I know which one will be making its way into my shopping basket in the New Year so watch out for a full review soon. I love applying deep cleansing masks in the bath as the steam and lavender essence from the bath help the mask work its way into my clogged up skin.

Aesop Parsley Seed & Primrose Cleansing Masks

Aesop Parsley Seed & Primrose Cleansing Masks

Of course no bath would be complete without a scented candle burning to add to the atmosphere of your home spa. I asked for scented candles for Christmas and boy did my family listen! I actually received eight in total enough to keep me going all year! But I still couldn’t resist having a cheeky burn of one of my mothers (and an absolute favourite of mine) Jo Malone’s Wild Fig and Cassis.

After 20 minutes or so of sitting back and relaxing I remove the mask with a hot flannel and pat myself dry. After a quick sweep of toner I’m ready to drench myself with varies lotions and potions that I know my winter worn dry skin will soak up. I’m going all out here as I have nothing on the agenda for tonight except lots of sleep so I don’t mind looking like a bit if an oil slick. First I layer on a Serum Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair* is an old reliable of mine its a cult classic and  beauty editors favourite for a reason, suiting most skin types it hydrates and promotes skin cell turnover meaning as well as being great for anti-aging its also a bit of a miracle worker for blemishes. Then I lather on some thick night cream I’ve left my Chanel Ultra Correction Line Repair Anti Wrinkle Night Cream* at home and bought with a little sample of the REN Frankincense Revitalizing Night Cream  which is lovely and moisturising and has a beautifully calming scent. Then as my skin is seriously thirsty I keep going, layering on an facial oil. I’ve been trying out the Balance Me Radiance Face Oil and have been really enjoying it. Less intense then my Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate but still deeply hydrating. I’ve also now got enough slip on my face to give myself a mini facial massage to dry and drain away any puffyness around my eyes and jawline.

EL ANR, REN Frankensence Night Cream & Balance Me Face Oil

EL ANR, REN Frankensence Night Cream & Balance Me Face Oil

After I’m suitably oiled up I then take either a body oil or lotion to give the rest of my skin a treat. I think tonight I’ll be using the incredible smelling Victoria’s Secrets Angel Hydrating Lotion in Bergamot. Bergamot is one of my favourite scents I love the musky floriental and this lotion also has a tiny amount of shimmer in which gives a lovely sheen to my legs and decolletage. Then its time to slip on my PJs and slippers grab a turkey sandwich and catch up on all my favourite beauty blogs!

What’s your bathtime ritual?

This entry was posted in The Routines and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Post Christmas Pamper

  1. Coco says:

    I love this post! I definitely need some pampering. I don’t even have a routine yet xx

Leave a Reply

