Top 12 of 2012

Sorry this is a bit late but here are my Top 12 Products Of 2012. These aren’t all necessarily new releases this from last year, some are old classics but there all products that I’ve discovered and have been loving throughout 2012.

UD Naked Palette, MAC Shy Girl, NARS Douceur, MAC Melba, Becca Skin Tint, Bobbi Brown Mascara, Chanel Le Varnis.

UD Naked Palette, MAC Shy Girl, NARS Douceur, MAC Melba, Becca Skin Tint, Bobbi Brown Mascara, Chanel Le Varnis.

Foundation: Becca Skin Tint. This is my absolute Holy Grail tinted moisturiser; it provides a sheer coverage while making your skin look like its glowing from within. I have it in the shade Cashmere which is a perfect summer shade for me. If the rumours are true and Becca has gone under then I plan of picking up a back-up asap!

Blusher: MAC Melba & NARS Douceur. Blush is my absolute favourite thing to buy/play with in make-up so I really couldn’t pick just one! MAC’s Melba was bought over the summer and was my first step away from the ‘dolly pink’ blushes that I’d always used before I wore this every day for months when I first picked it up at the start of the summer and even in winter I still reach for it on a near daily bases. I love that its matte so I can choose to wear highlighter or not.  I couldn’t not mention NARS’ Douceur in my ‘Top 12 Of 2012’ I might have only bought this little beauty in October but Its already claimed the top spot for my most loved winter blusher. Its subtle sculpting skills and rose-brown hue sets it apart from anything else I own.

Nails: Chanel Coco Blue.* This pastel blue was actually a LE shade from 2011 but it has been a firm favourite all through this year. A lovely light blue to wear on fingers and toes in the summer it’s also ‘icy’ enough to carry through into the colder months. I don’t own anything else like it. I know Chanel formulas aren’t the easiest to get along with but my nails always seem to chip after a few days anyway so its wear time doesn’t really bother me as long as I pair it with a good top and bottom coat.

Eyes: Urban Decay Naked palette.* What can I say? I just can’t put this down! I have so many eyeshadows but this palette is unrivalled for its selection of warm shimmery neutrals. The Naked2 palette was  released this year and I wasn’t even tempted to stray so it must be true love.

Lips: MAC Shy Girl. Before 2012 I’d never really found a true nude that suited me. I had some bits to ‘back to MAC’ and took it as an opportunity to try and find a nude as if I hated it, it wouldn’t matter so much as it was free. The MUA tried out a few on me and Shy Girl was the clear winner warm enough to stop me looking washed out but still a nude. I now couldn’t be without it and wear it on pretty much every night out.

Mascara:  Bobbi Brown’s Lash Glamour Extreme Lengthening Mascara wins two prices, firstly the longest name for a mascara in the history of the world, and more importantly my top spot for 2012. It really does do everything it says on the tin, its ultra black its lengthening but doesn’t look spidery and adds mega volume without looking clumpy. If you like ‘wow’ lashes you need to give this a go.

Tangle Teaser, EL ANR, Ren Clay Cleanser, Xen Tan Dark Lotion. Aesop Camellia Nut Cream, Ren Glycolactic Mask

Tangle Teaser, EL ANR, Ren Clay Cleanser, Xen Tan Dark Lotion. Aesop Camellia Nut Cream, Ren Glycolactic Mask

Hair: Tangle Teaser.* 2012 was the year that I started to take care of my hair a little better. I started using hair oils and SLS free shampoos but really nothing has changed my hair as much as the humble tangle teaser. If you have thick or long hair that gets tangled easily then you need this full stop! It glides through my hair like nothing else, I used to only brush my hair once every two weeks or so (I know, I know rank!) because I hated the task so much but with this bad boy I brush it every day. Oh and its bright pink winner!

Cleanser: Ren Clear Calm Clay Cleanser. 2012 was also the year I stepped away from foaming gel cleansers and started to really get into skincare as well as make-up. It was a tough competition between the Emma Hardie Balm Cleanser and the REN Clear Calm Cleanser but in the end REN piped it to the post. Simply because I can’t ever imagine not having this in my bathroom stash. It’s incredible at deep cleansing the skin, preventing and treating blemishes. If you want to hear my full thoughts on this click here

Moisturiser: Aesop Camellia Nut Hydrating Cream. Hands down no competition. Read my full review here to find out why.

Mask: REN Glycolactic Radiance Renewal Mask* I love using a mask once or twice a week and I own a fair few for hydrating and cleansing but the REN Glycolactic Radiance Renewal Mask* is something very special. It instantly makes my skin look brighter and clearer as soon as I remove the product. Over time it has help with any scaring I had and to even out my skintone. Absolutely love this.

Treatment: Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair. I bought this serum last January and have used it nearly every night since. So I can safely say this really is a 2012 favourite. It hydrates and gently exfoliates. I’m nearly out and dreading the day it gives its last drop as it is very pricy.

Body: Xen Tan  Dark Lotion Absolute Luxe in Ultra Dark.* Before this year I’d only dabbled in gradual tans. As I’m so naturally fair I assumed that if I tried a darker over night tan it would look all streaky and orange. But I took a chance on Xen Tan Absolute Luxe Dark Lotion* and I’m so glad I did. Its green undertones which look terrifying when first applied leave a natural olive colour behind, and as I’m so pale to start of with I don’t have a ‘base tan’ for the tan to work with so its not as dark on me. I’m sure I’ll do a tanning guide for pale skin closer to the summer so if you fair like me stay tuned.

What were your favourite beauty products from 2012? Are any the same as mine? 

This entry was posted in The Favourites and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

