Top Five Highlighters

My Top Five Highlighters.

My Top Five Highlighters.

I’m a big fan of the ‘dewy’ skin look. I hardly ever powder my face or use any kind of mattafying foundation or primer. To me ‘perfect’ skin is glowing skin and the easiest way to get it is to fake till you make it! So as well as using tinted moisturisers with a sheeny finish I like to pack on the highlighters on the high points of my face, cheekbones, underneath my eyebrows and down the bridge on my nose all get a daily dose of glow. This is especially important at this time of year when all the central heating, wind and snow sucks the life out of my pale skin leaving it looking a little dull. So here are my top five highlighting products for the face.

My Top Five Highlighters_2

Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick in Beige

This is actually my second shimmer brick in beige as I’ve been using this highlighter since my late teens. Beige has a fantastic range of shades from an icy cream, a rosy pink through to the more bronzy golden shades near the bottom. The shade range means you can pick a choose the effect your after and makes it easier to match your skin tone. It imparts a generous amount of shimmer onto the skin but maintains a smooth texture. I also love the chic black sturdy compact with a large mirror which makes it ideal for travelling, as an added bonus the shades can double up as sheer eyeshadows.

MAC Cream Colour Base in Hush*

Hush is, as the name suggests, a cream product the same consistency as a cream blush. It has a peachy-pink with a beautiful iridescent icy shimmer. MAC suggests you can use this product on your eyes as well as face but I know on mine it would become a creasing mess! However, this gives a subtle yet stunning glow as a highlighter or on top of a matte blush. As it is a little hard to work with I recommend using your fingers or a hard stippling brush (I find the real techniques one is perfect) to warm it up a bit first.

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer

This is one to invest in if you’re looking for mega-watt shine! This champagne highlighter with a golden undertone packs a serious punch when it comes to adding a shimmer. The formula is lovely and smooth without any chunks of glitter it blends easily across cheekbones. I love this for highlighting my inner eye corner and browbone. As you need such a tiny amount and it comes in at a whooping 8.5grams (twice the size of the average blush) you’ll never run out making it well worth the price.

Benefit Moonbeam*

Benefit’s Moonbeam and Highbeam are cult products is the beauty world (they’ve been around since 1999 say what?!) and I think I’ve always had at least one in my stash since I was a teen. Although I own booth Highbeam and Moonbeam, for me Moonbeam pits it to the post. This high voltage shimmery apricot with pink undertone blends out beautifully with fingers to give an almost ‘lit from within’ glow. It’s also great to mix with a full coverage foundation to make it less heavy or matte. (I’ve heard a rumour that this is being discontinued, so grab one while you can!)

NARS Multiple in Orgasm*

I’m a huge fan of Orgasm, the blush, so it makes sense that I also love its highlighter namesake. You can use this alone as a cream blush, but unlike some of the other multiples I own (Malibu for example) I don’t find this pigmented enough preferring to use it either over the top of a matte blush, to give it a gorgeous pinky/golden glow, or as a traditional highlighter on the cheekbones. Saying that, I do love to wear it alone on the cheeks in the summer when I have a healthy tan and am going for a minimal make up look.

Top Five Winter Lipsticks

Top Five Red Lipsticks

Top Five Winter Blushes  

 

This entry was posted in Top Five and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Top Five Highlighters

  1. Leanne says:

    I have the cream colour base which i use on my cheekbones and eyelids. I have been lusting after the Mary Lou Manizer highlighter from The Balm though. It looks so pretty when Ive seen it used in youtube videos!

    Leanne @ Leanne-Marie | Beauty, fashion & lifestyle. x x

  2. Coco says:

    I’ve always wanted to try the BB Shimmer Bricks and I need to get Moon Beam now that it’s being discontinued xx

    • kittymakesup says:

      Wow really? Seems strange they would discontinue moonbeam I would have thought it would be a top seller, why do companies do that?! xx

      • Coco says:

        I know 😦 They recently released a list of makeup they were going to discontinue. Those items are on sale on their website right now. Moonbeam has a really discounted price so it’s a great time to get it xx

      • kittymakesup says:

        Hmm its not on sale on the UK website but it is out of stock. I would try and grab one if you can they last forever. x

  3. Priscilla :) says:

    I loooove moon beam! I have to try all of these. I adore dewy skins, looks so natural! great blog xx

Leave a Reply

