NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencils

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencils

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencils

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencils In Trains Blue* Red Square* Belle De Jour and Dragon Girl*

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencils In Trains Blue* Red Square* Belle De Jour and Dragon Girl*

I have a few of these NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencils and really love the shades and formulas so I thought I’d share my thoughts on them. I have four of the 13 shades that NARS offer, Red Square*, Dragon Girl*, Belle De Jour and Train Bleu*. I think the description of ‘velvet matte’ is perfect for these highly pigmented pencils. I find a lot of matte lipsticks tug at the lips when applying straight from the bullet but these go on so smoothly and are completely opaque in one swipe, although they are not moisturising they are creamy and I don’t find them at all drying even when wearing them on a long day with no added lipbalm. One of the main reasons I love these velvet matte lip pencils is the wear time, I can honestly pop one on in the morning, no lipliner or lipbrush required and not have to top it up all day they last through numerous cups of tea and lunch. This is great for me as I’m not one to be constantly checking or re-applying my make-up throughout the day (or night!).

Swatched No Flash, L-R Train Blue*, Dragon Girl*, Red Square*, Belle De Jour

Swatched No Flash, L-R Train Blue*, Dragon Girl*, Red Square*, Belle De Jour

Train Blue* is probably the most intimidating of the bunch and I have to admit I’ve only worn this deep burgundy shade a handful of times, but if your into deep berries and sultry looks then this really is the perfect dark purple to pull of the glam-goth look. I do really love this when work up the guts to wear it, pairing it with a soft shimmering grey eye shadow and lots of black mascara to contact the harsh lips Dragon Girl* is a classic cherry red I love how bright this looks on the lips with its blue base and pink leanings, this is for you if you love the 50s siren look. Red Square* is one of my favourites it’s an orangey red it’s amazing in summer with a tan. I love taking Red Square* to festivals as it’s so easy to slap on and forget about and it’s such an amazing fun colour, I’m wearing Red Square* in the picture below if you want to see how it looks on. Finally Belle De Jour is the Velvet Lip Pencil version of the classic NARS lipstick of the same name. Unfortunately for some reason this isn’t as easy to wear as the other velvet matte lip pencils and shows up any flaws or dry skin your lips may have, however exfoliating and prepping the lips with a good waxy balm solves this problem. Belle De Jour is a warm nude similar to MACs Shy Girl but with a matte finish so for me this is the perfect 60s nude.

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Red Square

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Red Square

Do you have any of the NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencils? Any Shades I need to add to my collection?

This entry was posted in The Look, The Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencils

  1. Emma says:

    Ahh they sound so lovely. Train Blue looks right up my street. I only own a lipstick and eyeshadow palette from Nars… I need more!!

  2. Gita says:

    Wow, that “Red Square” shade is amazing and it suit you perfectly! I gotta get some of those to add them to my lip collection :).
    Great blog, lots of useful tips :)!

    xx
    http://gita-oddsandends.blogspot.com/

  3. Jenni says:

    Do you tye your hair? Which color do you use? Or is it natural?

  4. Pingback: Prime Suspects | Kittymakesup

Leave a Reply

