The Look of Love

Valentine’s day make-up

Chanel Blusher, Prada Perfume, Essie Nail Polish, MAC Lipstick and Dior Lipbalm.

Chanel Blusher, Prada Perfume, Essie Nail Polish, MAC Lipstick and Dior Lipbalm.

I know Valentines Day causes a great divide, some people will skip hand in hand through fields of lilies declaring their alliance to this special day of love and some people think its just a silly day made up by the card companies to make themselves money and for others to feel bad. I think I fall in-between the two, whilst I certainly don’t expect to have hoards of red roses thrown at my feet by the man in my life I do think it’s a nice reminder to spend ‘quality’ time together that doesn’t involve eating pad thai in front of Jonathan Creek every night (or is that just my romantic life?). SO in the hopes that I get taken out (or cooked for) this 14th I started to think about what make-up I would wear.

 Shu Uemura Eyelash Curlers, MAC Cream Colour Base, MAC Eyeshadows, Rimmel Eyeliner, Chanel Blush

Shu Uemura Eyelash Curlers, MAC Cream Colour Base, MAC Eyeshadows, Rimmel Eyeliner, Chanel Blush

EYES:

For all that gazing you’re going to want your eyes to be as big and bright as possible, I’m steering clear of the heavy smoky look, instead using light browns, peaches and shimmery pinks to empathise their size and round shape. I’ll be using MAC’s All That Glitters all over the lid blended out with a little Era a touch of Pink Freeze in the inner corner and then Shroom on the brow bone to really catch the light. Instead of winging out the shadows as I normally would for an evening look, I’ll keep to the natural shape of my eye to keep the look more subtle. Another great way to really open the eyes without lots of liner is to curl your eyelashes, I have Shu Uemura’s Gold Eyelash Curlers which work perfectly for my eye shape and size, then pile on your favourite black mascara for long lashes that can flutter all night. My last tip is run a flesh toned pencil along the waterline to make your eyes appear whiter and bigger, my favourite at the moment is Rimmel’s Scandaleyes in Nude.

Cheeks:

For cheeks a girlish pink flush is perfect for recreating that blush of first love and innocence. I’ve chosen Chanel’s Joues Contraste in Rose Ecrin*. This neutral toned rosy pink has a satin finish and goes on sheer. Making it perfect for a blush that looks like it comes from within. Of course Chanel blushes are perfectly suited to Valentine’s day as they are strongly rose-scented. If you are going out for dinner you might want to add a little highlighter to make those cheekbones razer sharp. I’m loving my MAC CCB in Hush* for its pretty pink shine.

Lips:

Of course you’ll want your lips to be the main focus and although a strong red pout would certainly grab the object of your affection’s attention it might not last a kiss (or two). I’ll be making my lips super soft and plump with Dior’s Crème De Rose Balm* a luxurious rose scented balm in the most incredible pin-up packaging that you won’t mind pulling out and re-applying in public if your lips do get a little ahem sore. If like me you like wearing lipstick at all times then I suggest a pretty pastel pink to perk up your pout. I’ll be reaching for MAC’s Hue a pretty sheer peachy pink that adds colour without being overpowering.

The Extras:

Of course when getting up close and personal it’s the little things that count. Make sure your hands are well manicured and freshly painted. Of course you can paint them any colour you fancy and a siren red is always a option in the art of seduction. I’ll however be going for a pretty nude pink to keep in tune with my cheeks and lips, Essie’s Eternal Optimist is everything I’m looking for- pretty, pink and creamy. Lastly you’ll have to smell good! Even though I love wearing rich oriental scents at night it could be a bit much on a date (esp in your crammed into a fully booked restaurant)  so I’ll be wearing Prada’s Infusion de Iris* a soapy floral with enough green notes to keep it young.

Swatched no flash, L-R MAC Eyeshadows in Shroom, Pink Freeze, All That Glitters,  Era, Chanel Blush in Rose Ecrin and MAC Lipstick in Hue.

Swatched no flash, L-R MAC Eyeshadows in Shroom, Pink Freeze, All That Glitters, Era, Chanel Blush in Rose Ecrin and MAC Lipstick in Hue.

So what will be wearing this 14th

This entry was posted in The Look, The Routines and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

