Prime Suspects

Primer-One

Although I never really been a massive primer fan, I’ve always felt my make-up should be good enough to last on its own, I’ve been reaching more and more for a certain few that as well as making my make-up last they add a certain something ‘extra’ to my beauty routine. I certainly don’t think I’ll be incorporating primer into my daily routine just yet but these beauties are doing the trick for special occasions.

Primer-2

Face: Clarins Instant Smooth Fake Tanning Primer & Laura Mercier Radiance Primer.

I won’t prattle on about the Clarins primer too much as it does have its very own individual review here, but needless to say Clarins do the best faux tanning products and the fact that this caramel hued base also makes me skin feel silky soft and blurs my pores is an added bonus I can get on board with! The Laura Mercier Radiance Primer is a newer addition to my Muji boxes. I haven’t yet tried this under or mixed in with my day base of choice the Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturiser, instead preferring it to a pre-curser to my ultimate night-out foundation, the Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk. This gives skin a beautiful light from within glow without making you look like an extra from Twilight. The slight pinky-peach undertone of this primer works fantastically with my skin tone, whether I am tanned or not. You can even use this as a highlighter over foundation for a dewy glow without the shimmer of a more traditional powder highlighter.

Hair: Living Proof Prime

The latest addition to my primer stash is the Living Proof Prime for hair. This was 100% influenced by Sali Hughes great video on how to look after your fringe. After washing my hair I take a tiny bit of this and run it through my fringe before blowdrying. This stops all the oil and make-up from my forehead adsorbing into my hair and therefore works wonders in extending the time in-between hair washes. If you have a fringe you need this! As I said this is a fairly new product for me, so I have yet to try it all over my hair to see if it extends a ‘proper’ blow dry or style such as curls. I will however by putting these to the test this weekend and reporting back.

Eye-Primers

Eyes: Nars Smudge Proof Eye Primer & MAC Painterly Paint Pot

Again this Nars Eye Primer is a holy grail for me and has an ode all to itself here. But to sum it up, nothing and I mean nothing compares to this tube of wonder. My eyeshadow stays glued to my eyes with this underneath them. I’ve even fallen asleep with my make-up on (I know I know) to wake up to my fully fledged smoky eye unsmudged! MAC’s Painterly Paint Pot is my every day eye base when I don’t need my eye look to last 24 hours. It evens out my skin tone and provides a nice base for a light shimmery shade. I also love to use this under my concealer on my dark circles. Not only does it stop the concealer from creasing it also means I need to use less as the colour brightens up the area.

Lip-Primers

Lips: Lush Popcorn Lip Scrub & Nuxe Reve De Miel Lipbalm

Now if you have read my blog for a while you will now I am a matte lip lover! Especially the Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencils. However if you are going to commit to wearing a matte lipstick, especially a bright colour or a red you need to prime your lips and make sure they are in tip-top condition. I have two little hero products for this, starting with my Lush Popcorn Lip Scrub, I really use a good amount to get rid of any flaky bits of skin that could potentially show up. Then once I have wiped away the scrub I apply the Nuxe Reiv de Miel Lipblam. This is great for using before you apply your lip of choice because not only it intensely hydrating it leaves your lips matte and non-slippy. So when you go on to use your lipstick it won’t slide all over your face.

So for someone who claims not to be a big primer lover I certainly have a few favourites! Do you have any must have primers I need to try?

TwitterInstagramPinterest

This entry was posted in The Reviews, The Routines and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Prime Suspects

  1. Alexia says:

    I also recently discovered Nuxe Reiv de Miel Lipblam, it’s amazing. Nothing else has come close for keeping my lips in tip top condition!

Leave a Reply

